GFZ structure

There are 28 Research Sections at the GFZ, combined in four departments, each Department representing a particular research focus. Long term research objectives at the GFZ are realized within the overarching topic-oriented Helmholtz Research Programmes. Every programme includes several Research Topics. Research within topics is done across sections.

thumbnail GFZ organisation chart
GFZ organisation chart


GFZ organisational structure

  • Prof. D. Giardini
  • Prof. B. Dingwell
Vice Chair
  • Dr. J. Schicks
  • Dr. K. E. Huthmacher
  • Dr. U. Gutheil
Vice Chair
  • Prof. R. Hüttl
(Chairman) Scientific Executive Director
  • Dr. S. Schwartze
Administrative Executive Director

(DFG) Research Ombudsperson: Dr. R. Trumbull

Staff Council: Dr. H. Schelle

Equal Opportunity Commissioner: Dr. U. Weckmann

Representative Body for Disabled Employees: S. Thiel