Indices of Global Geomagnetic Activity

The geomagnetic three-hour-range Kp index was introduced by J. Bartels in 1949 and is derived from the standardized K index (Ks) of 13 magnetic observatories. It is designed to measure solar particle radiation by its magnetic effects.

The geomagnetic ap, Ap, Cp and C9 and the classification of international Q-days and D-days are derived from the Kp index.

This service contributes to the International Service of Geomagnetic Indices (ISGI) of the IAGA.

Nowcast Kp Index

Nowcast Kp index, shown daily in a bar plot with an overview of the last six days:

Most Recent Definitive Indices of the Kp index

Planetary magnetic three-hour-range indices, shown in old style musical diagram:

Geomagnetic disturbances can be monitored by ground-based magnetic observatories recording the three magnetic field components. The global Kp index is obtained as the mean value of the disturbance levels in the two horizontal field components, observed at 13 selected, subauroral stations . The name Kp originates from "planetarische Kennziffer" ( = planetary index).

The following definition of K variations has been given by Siebert (1971):

K variations are all irregular disturbances of the geomagnetic field caused by solar particle radiation within the 3-h interval concerned. All other regular and irregular disturbances are non K variations. Geomagnetic activity is the occurrence of K variations.

Local disturbance levels are determined by measuring the range (difference between the highest and lowest values) during three-hourly time intervals for the most disturbed horizontal magnetic field component. First, however, the quiet-day variation pattern has to be removed from the magnetogram, a somewhat subjective procedure. The range is then converted into a local K index (first introduced 1938 for the magnetic observatory Niemegk near Potsdam) taking the values 0 to 9 according to a quasi-logarithmic scale, which is station specific; this is done in an attempt to normalize the frequency of occurrence of the different sizes of disturbances. But K still remains a local index, describing disturbances in the vicinity of each observatory. According to the geographic and geomagnetic coordinates of the observatories, each observatory still has an annual cycle of daily variations. Using statistical methods, Julius Bartels generated conversion tables to eliminate these effects. By applying the conversion tables, a standardized index Ks for each of the 13 selected observatories is determined. In contrast to the K values, the Ks index is expressed in a scale of thirds (28 values):

0o, 0+, 1-, 1o, 1+, 2-, 2o, 2+, ... , 8o, 8+, 9-, 9o

The main purpose of the standardized index Ks is to provide a basis for the global geomagnetic index Kp which is the average of a number of "Kp stations", originally 11. The Ks data for the two stations Brorfelde and Lovö, as well as for Eyrewell and Canberra, are combined so that their average enters into the final calculation, the divisor thus remaining 11.

Kp was introduced as a magnetic index by Bartels in 1949. Both K and Kp were officially adopted by the International Association for Terrestrial Magnetism and Electricity (IATME, which later became the International Association for Geomagnetism and Aeronomy,IAGA) in 1951 and the series of Kp was extended backwards to 1932 during the subsequent period.

Bartels introduced a musical diagram for a demonstrative presentation of the planetary indices. The musical diagram shows the quantitative values of the Kp. It further enables a quick orientation on the activity by means of the length and the width of the symbols. The repetition of disturbed periods is clearly expressed through the convenient ordering by solar rotations. The musical diagram key is as follows:

During 1949-1996 Kp has been derived at the Institut für Geophysik of Göttingen University, Germany. Since 1997 the Kp and related indices are derived at the Adolf Schmidt Geomagnetic Observatory Niemegk of the Helmholtz Centre Potsdam GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences. Kp and its related indices (ap, Ap, Cp) are widely used in ionospheric and magnetospheric studies and are generally recognized as indices measuring worldwide geomagnetic activity.

The IAGA-97 Resolutions #5 and #6 recognize the value of preserving the uniqueness of the official IAGA indices and the importance of geomagnetic activity indices for characterization and prediction of a wide range of geomagnetic phenomena.

Portrait von Juilius Bartels (1899-1965)
Juilius Bartels (1899-1965)
(GFZ Potsdam)

Julius Bartels was born August 17, 1899 in Magdeburg, Germany. He studied mathematics, physics and geography in Berlin and Göttingen. After achieving his PhD in 1923, Bartels worked as a postdoc with A. Schmidt at the Potsdam magnetic observatory. His early works dealt with statistical methods especially in atmospheric, geomagnetic and ionospheric tides.

In 1928, Bartels became professor in Eberswalde; in 1936, he became director of the Potsdam Geophysical Institute and full professor at Berlin university. Between 1931 and 1940, he also worked as a research associate at the Department of Terrestrial Magnetism at the Carnegie Institution (Washington D.C., U.S.A.) for longer periods of time. In 1946, J. Bartels became professor in Göttingen, and, in addition, he was director of the Institute for Physics of the Stratosphere at the Max-Planck-Institut für Aeronomie in Lindau, Germany from 1955 to 1964 (Today: Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research).

In 1940, Bartels and his friend S. Chapman published Geomagnetism, a standard work of geophysics until today. In many of his publications, Bartels developed, used and perfected statistical methods. With these statistical methods, he was able to disprove many widely accepted geophysical models on the one hand and develop some very useful and easy to apply geophysical indices on the other. Among these widely accepted and well known indices is the planetary geomagnetic Kp index.

Eliminating regular variations of the Earth's magnetic field, he showed the impact of the Sun's wave and particle radiation. He recognized that seizing this concept in numbers would form a powerful tool for scientists in the research of solar-terrestrial relations. Bartels knew well that this the Kp tables would only be accepted if they were presented in a clearly arranged and lucid manner. The striking success of the three-hourly geomagnetic Kp indices is also due to their brilliant representation in the Bartels musical diagram (musical scales).

Using only geomagnetic data and statistical methods, Bartels claimed the existence of M-regions on the sun that are responsible for geomagnetic activity. Not before 1973 - with the Skylab mission - was observational data of coronal holes gained. The claimed M-regions were identified as coronal holes, which are the source of the fast solar wind that intensifies geomagnetic activity.

Julius Bartels was one of the initiators of the International Geophysical Year (IGY, 1957). When he died March 6, 1964, he had contributed much to the reputation of geophysics worldwide.

The Solar-Terrestrial Sciences section of the European Geophysical Society (EGS) has established the Julius Bartels Medal in recognition of the scientific achievement of Julius Bartels. It is reserved for outstanding research in solar-terrestrial sciences.


Biographical information extracted from W. Dieminger, Julius Bartels (Nachruf), in Mitteilungen aus der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft 1-2, München 1964, and W. Kertz, Einführung in die Geophysik II, Mannheim 1971. 

Format | Previous month | Current month

Table / HTML | Nowcast , Definitive | Nowcast
Table / TAB | Nowcast , Definitive | Nowcast
Table / WDC | Nowcast , Definitive | Nowcast
Table / PDF | Nowcast , Definitive | Nowcast
Table / PS | Nowcast , Definitive | Nowcast

Bartels music / 4 solar rot. / GIF | Nowcast , Definitive | Nowcast
Bartels music / 4 solar rot. / PS | Nowcast , Definitive | Nowcast
Bartels music / Year / GIF | Nowcast , Definitive | Nowcast
Bartels music / Year / PS | Nowcast , Definitive | Nowcast
R9/C9 Daily Magnetic Character Figures / PDF | - , Definitive | -
R9/C9 Daily Magnetic Character Figures / GIF | - , Definitive | -

As a member of the International Service of Geomagnetic Indices, the GFZ, Adolf-Schmidt-Observatory Niemegk, supplies historical and current Kp and derived indices per anonymous FTP:

   ftp://ftp.gfz-potsdam.de/pub/home/obs/kp-ap/

Note: FTP site may refuse connections due to excessive traffic.

The kp-ap/ directory contains:

  • readme.txtASCII text fileA plain text copy of the Geomagnetic Indices
  • www page.music.exebinary executable fileA PC executable program for 386 or higher machines. music.exe reads Kp/ap values in WDC format and produces a PostScript file with Bartels Kp music diagram. Download music.exe using binary mode! The data file ssc.dat is also required to run music.exe.
  • ssc.datASCII data fileList of (storm) sudden commencements (ssc), partly preliminary.
  • tab/SubdirectoryContains the monthly Kp/ap tables in a simple text format readable for both humans and computers (*.tab). The file tab_fmt.doc provides a format description. The tables distributed by regular mail (PostScript format) are also provided in this directory.
  • wdc/Subdirectory. Contains the monthly (respectively yearly) Kp/ap tables and much more information in condensed tables (ASCII format). The format is nearly identical to the format of Kp/ap tables distributed by the World Data Center A for Solar-Terrestrial Physics. The file wdc_fmt.doc provides a format description. This format does not contain any information on the quiet and most disturbed days as the tables in the tab directory do.
  • music/Subdirectory. Contains the Kp values in the Bartels musical diagram (Postscript format), which is very helpful in visualizing the indices.
  • quietdst/Subdirectory. Contains tables of the quietest and most disturbed days for all months since Jan 1932. (Values since 1900 also supplied, use with caution.)
  • kp-freq/Subdirectory. Contains tables of frequencies of Kp indices.
  • ap_monyr.aveASCII test file. A table with monthly and yearly averages of Ap.

The sites listed here are those used in the creation of the Kp index, and hence also in the derived ap index. The observatories are listed in the order of their geomagnetic latitude (beginning with the highest one).

#CodeNameLandAktivitätLatLongK=9 (nT)
1LERLerwickScotland1932-heute60°08'358°49'1000
2MEAMeanookCanada1932-heute 54°37'246°40'1500
3SITSitkaAlaska1932-heute57°03'224°40'1000
4ESKEskdalemuirScotland1932-heute 55°19'356°48'750
5LOVLovöSweden1954-200459°21'17°50'600
UPSUppsalaSweden2004-heute59°54'17°21'600
6AGNAgincourtCanada1932-196943°47'280°44'600
OTTOttawaCanada1969-heute45°24'284°27'750
7RSVRude SkovDenmark1932-198455°51'12°27'600
BFEBrorfeldeDenmark1984-heute55°37'11°40'600
8ABNAbingerEngland1932-195751°11'359°37'500
HADHartlandEngland1957-heute50°58'355°31'500
9WNGWingstGermany1938-heute53°45'9°04'500
10WITWitteveenNetherland1932-198852°49'6°40'500
NGKNiemegkGermany 1988-heute52°04'12°41'500
11CLHCheltenhamUSA1932-195738°42'283°12'500
FRDFredericksburgUSA1957-heute38°12'282°38'500
12TOOToolangiAustralia1972-1981-37°32'145°28'500
CNBCanberraAustralia1981-heute-35°18'149°00'450
13AMLAmberleyNew Zealand1932-1978-43°09'172°43'500
EYREyrewellNew Zealand1978-heute-43°25'172°21'500

*) After the IGRF Model 'IGRF 10th generation (revised 2005)'  and http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/IAGA/vmod/igrf.html

From K to Ks

 

There is a pronounced diurnal variation in the K index at a single station, with intervals close to local midnight being substantially more disturbed in comparison with those centered on local noon. This diurnal variation also exhibits seasonal and latitudinal dependence. Mere averaging of the logarithm of activity was therefore not considered proper unless the stations were densely and evenly distributed over the world. To overcome this, a standardization procedure was developed by J. Bartels for assigning to each K value a standardized alternate - designated by Ks - which could be more refined than K in the sense that it is given in thirds.

The present conversion tables for three seasons have been prepared using selected data from 1943 to 1948 (except Niemegk). The three seasons are:

JFND

The months around winter solstice: January, February, November and December.

MASO

The months around the equinoxes: March, April, September and October.

MJJA

The months around summer solstice: May, June, July and August.

 

Conversion Tables

MEA Meanook

SIT Sitka

LER Lerwick

ESK Eskdalemuir

UPS Uppsala

LOV Lovö

BFE Brorfelde

RSV Rude Skov

WNG Wingst

WIT Witteveen

HAD Hartland

ABN Abinger

OTT Ottawa

AGN Agincourt

FRD Fredericksburg

CLH Cheltenham

EYR Eyrewell

AML Amberley

CNB Canberra

TOO Toolangi

NGK Niemegk

Geomagnetic a Index

The three-hour index ap and the daily indices Ap, Cp and C9 are directly related to the Kp index. In order to obtain a linear scale from Kp, J. Bartels gave the following table to derive a three-hour equivalent range, named ap index:

This table is made in such a way that at a station at about dipole latitude 50 degrees, ap may be regarded as the range of the most disturbed of the two horizontal field components, expressed in the unit of 2nT.

Geomagnetic Ap Index

The daily index Ap is obtained by averaging the eight values of ap for each day.

Geomagnetic Cp Index

In order to replace the somewhat subjective index Ci, the Cp index - the planetary daily character figure - was developed. Cp is a qualitative estimate of overall level of magnetic activity for the day determined from the daily sum of eight ap amplitudes. Cp ranges, in steps of one-tenth, from 0 (quiet) to 2.5 (disturbed) and is defined according to the following table:

Geomagnetic C9 Index

Another index devised to express geomagnetic activity on the basis of the Cp index is the C9 index. It converts the 0 to 2.5 range of Cp to one digit between 0 and 9 and is defined by the following conversion table:

The quiet (Q) and disturbed (D) days

Classification of Days (deduced from <i>Kp</i> indices)

The selection of the quietest days (Q-days) and most disturbed days (D-days) of each month is deduced from the Kp indices on the basis of three criteria for each day:

  1. The sum of the eight Kp values.
  2. The sum of squares of the eight Kp values.
  3. The maximum of the eight Kp values.

According to each of these criteria, a relative order number is assigned to each day of the month, the three order numbers are averaged and the days with the lowest and the highest mean order numbers are selected as the five (respectively ten) quietest and the five most disturbed days.

Refined Classification

It should be noted that these selection criteria give only a relative indication of the character of the selected days with respect to the other days of the same month. As the general disturbance level may be quite different for different years and also for different months of the same year, the selected quietest days of a month may sometimes be rather disturbed or vice versa.

In order to indicate such a situation, selected days which do not satisfy certain absolute criteria are marked as follows:

  • A selected quiet day is considered not really quiet and is marked by the letter A if Ap greater than 6, or marked by the letter K if Ap less or equal 6 and either one Kp value greater than 3 or two Kp values greater than 2+.
  • A selected disturbed day is considered not really disturbed and marked by an asterisk (*) if Ap less than 20.

The quiet (Q) and disturbed (D) days:

  • current Q/D days, Text file, html file
  • Archive of Q/D days:
    • 2000 - 2009, Text file, html file
    • 1990 - 1999, Text file, html file
    • 1980 - 1989, Text file, html file
    • 1970 - 1979, Text file, html file
    • 1960 - 1969, Text file, html file
    • 1950 - 1959, Text file, html file
    • 1940 - 1949, Text file, html file
    • 1932 - 1939, Text file, html file
  • J. Bartels, The technique of scaling indices K and Q of geomagnetic activity, Ann. Intern. Geophys. Year 4, 215-226, 1957;
  • J. Bartels,The geomagnetic measures for the time-variations of solar corpuscular radiation, described for use in correlation studies in other geophysical fields, Ann. Intern. Geophys. Year 4, 227-236, 1957;
  • M. Siebert, Maßzahlen der erdmagnetischen Aktivität, in Handbuch der Physik, vol. 49/3, 206-275, Springer, Berlin Heidelberg, 1971; for the description of several indices (in German);
  • M. Siebert and J. Meyer, Geomagnetic Activity Indices, in The Upper Atmosphere (Eds. W. Dieminger et al.), 887-911, Springer, Berlin Heidelberg, 1996; for an updated version of the German reference;
  • P.N. Mayaud, Derivation, Meaning and Use of Geomagnetic Indices, Geophysical Monograph 22, Am. Geophys. Union, Washington D.C., 1980; for a complete review of the present IAGA indices;
  • G.K. Rangarajan, Indices of magnetic activity, in Geomagnetism, edited by I.A. Jacobs, Academic, San Diego, 1989;
  • M. Menvielle and A. Berthelier, The K-derived planetary indices: description and availability, Rev. Geophys. 29, 3, 415-432, 1991.

© Kp index data from this website is distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)

Contact

Jürgen Matzka
Group Leader
Dr. Jürgen Matzka
Geomagnetism
Lindenstr. 7
Building H 1, Room 213
14823 Niemegk
+49 33843 624-18
Profile
Claudia Stolle
Section Head
Prof. Dr. Claudia Stolle
Geomagnetism
Behlertstraße 3a
Building K 3, Room 006
14467 Potsdam
+49 331 288-1230
Profile
overview

Planetarische Kennziffern der geomagnetischen Aktivität

Der geomagnetische 3-Stunden Kp-Index wurde 1949 von J. Bartels eingeführt und ist abgeleitet vom standardisierten K-Index (Ks) aus 13 magnetischen Observatorien. Er wurde als Maß für die magnetischen Effekte solarer Teilchenstrahlung entwickelt.

Die geomagnetischen Indizes/abgeleiteten Indizes ap, Ap, Cp und C9, sowie die Klassifikation der internationalen Q-days (Tage mit niedriger geomagnetischer Aktivität) und D-days (Tage mit hoher geomagnetischer Aktivität) sind vom Kp-Index abgeleitet.

Dieser Service ist ein Beitrag zum "International Service of Geomagnetic Indices" (ISGI) der IAGA.

Echtzeit Kp-Index

Tagesaktueller Echtzeit-Plott des Kp-Index in Balkendiagrammdarstellung mit Wochenübersicht:

Aktuelle definitive Werte des Kp-Index

Planetarische Kennziffer, dargestellt im historischen "Musikdiagramm":



Geomagnetische Störungen werden von magnetischen Observatorien an der Erdoberfläche gemessen, die kontinuierlich die drei Komponenten des magnetischen Feldvektors registrieren. Der globale Kp Index ist ein Maß für die natürlichen Störungen und berechnet sich als mittlerer Wert aus dem Störungsgrad K der beiden horizontalen Feldkomponenten an 13 ausgewählten Stationen außerhalb der Polarlichtzone. Der Name Kp bedeutet planetarische Kennziffer.

Die folgende Definition der Schwankungen von K stammt von Siebert (1971):

Variationen von K sind alle irregulären Störungen des geomagnetischen Felds, welche von solarer Partikelstrahlung innerhalb eines Dreistundenintervals ausgelöst werden. Alle anderen regulären und irregulären Störungen sind keine K Schwankungen. Geomagnetische Aktivität beschreibt das Auftreten von K Variationen.

Der lokale Störungsgrad wird bestimmt indem die Amplitude der am stärksten gestörten horitalen Feldkomponente in Dreistundenintervallen (als Differenz zwischen dem größten und kleinsten Messwert) gemessen wird. Vorher muß jedoch der ruhige Tagesgang aus dem Magnetogramm herausgerechnet werden, was nur durch subjektive Verfahren möglich ist. Die Amplitude wird dann in einen lokalen K Index umgerechnet (der 1938 für das magnetische Observatorium Niemegk bei Potsdam eingeführt wurde), und der die Werte 0 bis 9 auf einer quasi-logarithmischen Skala annehmen kann. Diese Umrechnung ist stationsspezifisch um die Werte für die Häufigkeit des Auftretens von Störungen unterschiedlicher Stärke zu normalisieren. Trotzdem bleibt K ein lokaler Index, der die Störungen bei jedem einzelnen Observatorium beschreibt. Jedes Observatorium zeigt noch einen Jahresgang der Tagesschwankungen, der von der geographischen und geomagnetischen Lage abhängt. Julius Bartels erstellte Umrechnungstabellen um diese Effekte zu eliminieren. Mit Hilfe dieser Tabellen wird ein standardisierter Index Ks für jedes der 13 ausgewählten Observatorien auf einer Skala in Dritteln erzeugt (28 Werte):

 

0o, 0+, 1-, 1o, 1+, 2-, 2o, 2+, ... , 8o, 8+, 9-, 9o

 

Die standardisierten Ks Kennziffer dient als Basis für den globalen geomagnetischen Kp Index, der sich als Mittelwert aus der Anzahl der ursprünglich 11 “Kp Stationen” berechnet. Heute werden daher die Ks Werte der beiden Stationen Brorfelde und Lovö, sowie auch Eyrwell und Canberra kombiniert, so dass ihr Mittelwert in die endgültige Kp-Berechnung eingeht und der Divisor dafür bei 11 bleibt.

Kp wurde als magnetischer Index 1949 von Bartels eingeführt. K und Kp wurden 1951 von der International Association for Terrestrial Magnetism and Electricity (IATME, die später zur International Association for Geomagnetism and Aeronomy, IAGA, wurde) offiziell anerkannt und die Zeitreihe der Kp Werte wurde in den folgenden Jahren bis 1932 zurück berechnet.

Bartels führte ein Diagramm für die Präsentation der planetarischen Kennziffer ein, welches an musikalische Notenschrift erinnert und daher auch Musikdiagramm bezeichnet wird. Dieses stellt die Kp Werte quantitativ dar. Es ermöglicht durch die Länge und Breite der Symbole einen schnellen Überblick über die magnetische Aktivität. Durch die zeitliche Anordnung nach Sonnenrotationen sind wiederkehrende Störungen gut erkennbar. Die Legende des Musikdiagramms ist wie folgt:

Kp wurde von 1949 bis 1996 am Institut für Geophysik der Universität Göttingen bestimmt. Seit 1997 werden Kp und weitere zugehörige Kennziffern am Adolf Schmidt Observatorium für Erdmagnetismus in Niemegk des Helmholtz-Zentrums Potsdam, Deutsches GeoForschungsZentrum GFZ berechnet. Kp sowie die verwandten Indizes (ap, Ap, Cp) findet breite Verwendung in ionosphärischen und magnetosphärischen Studien und werden als Kennziffern angesehen, welche die weltweite geomagnetische Aktivität beschreiben.

Die Beibehaltung dieser ursprünglichen, offiziellen IAGA Indizes und die Bedeutung der geomagnetischen Aktivitätskennzahlen für die Beschreibung und Vorhersage eines weiten Spektrums von geomagnetischen Phänomenen manifestieren die IAGA-Resolutionen Nr. 5 und Nr. 6 von 1997.

Julius Bartels wurde am 17. August 1899 in Magdeburg geboren. Er studierte Mathematik, Physik und Geografie in Berlin und Göttingen. Im Anschluß an seine Promotion 1923, arbeitete er mit Adolf Schmidt am Geomagnetischen Observatorium in Potsdam. In seinen frühen Arbeiten befasste er sich mit statistischen Methoden, speziell der athmosphärischen, geomagnetischen und der ionosphärischen Gezeiten.

1928 wurde Bartels Professor in Eberswalde; 1936 wurde er Direktor des Geophysikalischen Instituts in Potsdam und ordentlicher Professor an der Berliner Universität. Zwischen 1931 und 1940 arbeitete er auch für längere Zeit als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Institut für Erdmagnetismus an der Carnegie Institution (Washington DC, USA). 1946 wurde er Professor in Göttingen und außerdem von 1955 bis 1964 Direktor des Instituts für Physik der Stratosphäre des Max-Planck-Instituts für Aeronomie in Katlenburg-Lindau (heute: Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung).

1940 veröffentlichte Bartels und sein Freund S. Chapman die Monographie Geomagnetismus, die heute zu den Standardwerken der Geophysik zählt. In einer Vielzahl von Publikationen entwickelte, gebrauchte und perfektionierte er statistische Methoden. Mit diesen war es ihm einerseits möglich, viele breit akzeptierte geophysikalische Modelle zu widerlegen, andererseits viele brauchbare und leicht handhabbare geophysikalischen Indizes zu entwickeln. Darunter auch der weithin akzeptierte und gut bekannte planetarische geomagnetische Kp-Index.

Indem er die regelmäßigen Schwankungen des Magnetfeldes der Erde herausfilterte, zeigte er die Auswirkungen der solaren Wellen- und Teilchenstrahlung. Er erkannte, dass die Interpretation dieser Idee in konkreten Zahlen, ein leistungsfähiges Werkzeug für Wissenschaftler in der Erforschung der solar-terrestrischen Beziehungen schaffen würde. Bartels wußte auch, dass man seine Kp-Tabellen nur akzeptieren würde, wenn sie in einer übersichtlichen und klaren Art und Weise präsentiert werden. Der durchschlagende Erfolg der dreistündigen geomagnetischen Indizes Kp, beruht auch aufgrund ihrer brillanten Darstellung in den sogenannten Musikdiagrammen.

Nur mit geomagnetischen Daten und statistischen Methoden postulierte er die Existenz von M-Regionen auf der Sonne, die für die geomagnetischen Aktivitäten verantwortlich sind. Erst die Skylab-Mission (US Raumstation) 1973, lieferte Beobachtungsdaten von koronalen Löchern. Die M-Regionen wurden als koronale Löcher identifiziert, die die Ursprünge der schnellen Sonnenwinde sind und geomagnetishe Aktivität verstärken.

Julius Bartels war einer der Initiatoren des Internationalen Geophysikalischen Jahres (IGY, 1957). Er starb am 6. März 1964 und trug viel zur Reputation der Geophysik weltweit bei.

Die Sektion "Solar-Terrestrial Sciences" der Europäischen Geophysikalischen Gesellschaft (EGS) stiftete die Julius Bartels-Medaille in Anerkennung der wissenschaftlichen Leistung von Julius Bartels. Sie wird für herausragende Forschung in den solar-terrestrischen Wissenschaften vergeben.


Biographische Informationen aus:  W. Dieminger, Julius Bartels (Nachruf), in Mitteilungen aus der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft 1-2, München 1964, and W. Kertz, Einführung in die Geophysik II, Mannheim 1971. 

Format | Vorheriger Monat | Aktueller Monat

Tabelle / HTML | Nowcast , Definitive | Nowcast
Tabelle / TAB | Nowcast , Definitive | Nowcast
Tabelle / WDC | Nowcast , Definitive | Nowcast
Tabelle / PDF | Nowcast , Definitive | Nowcast
Tabelle / PS | Nowcast , Definitive | Nowcast

Bartels music / 4 solar rot. / GIF | Nowcast , Definitive | Nowcast
Bartels music / 4 solar rot. / PS | Nowcast , Definitive | Nowcast
Bartels music / Jahr / GIF | Nowcast, Definitive | Nowcast
Bartels music / Jahr / PS | Nowcast , Definitive | Nowcast
R9/C9 Quasigrafische Tabelle / PDF | - , Definitive | -
R9/C9 Quasigrafische Tabelle / GIF | - , Definitive | -

Als Mitglied des "International Service of Geomagnetic Indices", stellt das Adolf-Schmidt-Observatorium Niemegk historische und aktuelle Kp-Index-Daten, sowie deren abgeleitete Indizes per anonymen FTP-Download zur Verfügung:

   ftp://ftp.gfz-potsdam.de/pub/home/obs/kp-ap/

Bitte beachten Sie, dass der Zugang limitiert ist und versuchen Sie es zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt nochmal, falls der Zugriff verweigert wurde.

Das Kp-ap Verzeichnis enthält:

  • readme.txt: ASCII Textdatei, Kopie der README-Datei von der Haupt-Webseite der Geomagnetischen Indizes
  • music.exe: Ausführbares Windows-Programm für PCs (386er oder höher). Liest Kp/ap-Werte im WDC-Format und erzeugt daraus Postscript- (PS) Dateien mit Kp-Index-Diagrammen. Bitte beim herunterladen den Binärmodus wählen. Dieses Programm benötigt die Datei ssc.dat.
  • ssc.dat: ASCII Datendatei, Liste des ersten Auftretens von Sturmereignissen (List of (storm) sudden commencement). Aktuelle Einträge sind vorläufig.
  • tab/: Unterverzeichnis, enthält monatliche Kp/ap-Tabellen im ASCII-Text-Format und als Postscript-Datei. Die Datei tab_fmt.doc enthält die Formatbeschreibung. Diese Tabellen werden als Postscript-Datei auch per E-Mail verteilt
  • wdc/Unter- verzeichnis: enthält monatliche, bzw. jährliche, Kp/ap-Tabellen und weitere Informationen im verdichteten WDC-Format. Dieses Format ist annähernd identisch mit dem Format, das vom Welt-Datenzentrum für Solar-terrestrische-Physik (World Data Center A for Solar-Terrestrial Physics) verteilt wird. Die Datei wdc_fmt.doc enthält eine Formatbeschreibung. Dieses Format enthält keine Informationen zu ruhigen und stürmischen Tagen, wie sie im tab-Unterverzeichnis zu finden sind.
  • music/: Unterverzeichnis, enthält Kp-Index-Diagramme im Postscript-Format, das den Kp-Index anschaulich visualisiert
  • quietdst/: Unterverzeichnis, enthält Tabellen für fast alle ruhigen und stürmischen Tage (Q/D days) aller Monate seit 1932
  •  kp-freq/: Unterverzeichnis, enthält Tabellen von Frequenzen der Kp-Indizes
  • ap_monyr.ave: ASCII-Textdatei, Tabelle mit monatlichen und jährlichen Werten von Ap

Die folgende Liste enthält die Observatorien, die die offiziellen Daten für den Kp-Index erheben, sowie dessen abgeleiteten ap-Index. Die Reihenfolge der Observatorien ist nach der geografischen Breite sortiert, beginnend mit dem nördlichsten.

#CodeNameLandAktivitätLatLongK=9 (nT)
1LERLerwickSchottland1932-heute60°08'358°49'1000
2MEAMeanookKanada1932-heute 54°37'246°40'1500
3SITSitkaAlaska1932-heute57°03'224°40'1000
4ESKEskdalemuirSchottland1932-heute55°19'356°48'750
5LOVLovöSchweden1954-200459°21'17°50'600
UPSUppsalaSchweden2004-heute59°54'17°21'600
6AGNAgincourtKanada1932-196943°47'280°44'600
OTTOttawaKanada1969-heute45°24'284°27'750
7RSVRude SkovDänemark1932-198455°51'12°27'600
BFEBrorfeldeDänemark1984-heute55°37'11°40'600
8ABNAbingerEngland1932-195751°11'359°37'500
HADHartlandEngland1957-heute50°58'355°31'500
9WNGWingstDeutschland1938-heute53°45'9°04'500
10WITWitteveenNiederlande1932-198852°49'6°40'500
NGKNiemegkDeutschland 1988-heute52°04'12°41'500
11CLHCheltenhamUSA1932-195738°42'283°12'500
FRDFredericksburgUSA1957-heute38°12'282°38'500
12TOOToolangiAustralien1972-1981-37°32'145°28'500
CNBCanberraAustralien1981-heute-35°18'149°00'450
13AMLAmberleyNeuseeland1932-1978-43°09'172°43'500
EYREyrewellNeuseeland1978-heute-43°25'172°21'500

*) Nach dem IGRF-Modell "IGRF 10th generation (revised 2005)" und http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/IAGA/vmod/igrf.html

 

 

Von K zu Ks

An den einzelnen Observatorien gibt es einen ausgeprägten Tagesgang des K-Index, mit erheblich mehr gestörten Intervallen nahe 0 Uhr Lokalzeit im Vergleich zu den Mittagsstunden. Dieser Tagesgang variiert auch saisonal und ist ebenso abhängig von der geografischen Breite. Eine einfache Mittelwertbildung des Logarithmus der Aktivität wird daher als nicht sauber erachtet, da die Observatorien nicht dicht und gleichmäßig über die Welt verteilt sind. Um diese Unsauberkeit zu korrigieren, entwickelte Julius Bartels ein standardisiertes Verfahren. Er überführte  jeden K-Wert in einen vereinheitlichten alternativen, mit Ks gekennzeichneten Wert, der wesentlich genauer ist, da er in Dritteln angegeben wird.

Die vorliegenden Umrechnungstabellen für drei Jahreszeiten wurden mit ausgewählten Daten von 1943 bis 1948 (außer Niemegk) erstellt. Die drei Jahreszeiten sind:

JFND

Die Monate um die Wintersonnenwende: Januar, Februar, November und Dezember.

MASO

Die Monate um die Tagundnachtgleichen: März, April, September und Oktober.

MJJA

Die Monate um die Sommersonnenwende: Mai, Juni, Juli und August.

 

Umrechnungstabellen

MEA Meanook

SIT Sitka

LER Lerwick

ESK Eskdalemuir

UPS Uppsala

LOV Lovö

BFE Brorfelde

RSV Rude Skov

WNG Wingst

WIT Witteveen

HAD Hartland

ABN Abinger

OTT Ottawa

AGN Agincourt

FRD Fredericksburg

CLH Cheltenham

EYR Eyrewell

AML Amberley

CNB Canberra

TOO Toolangi

NGK Niemegk

Der geomagnetische ap Index

Der dreistündige ap Index  und die täglichen Indizes Ap, Cp und C9 sind direkt mit dem Kp Index verwandt. Um den Kp Index auf einer linearen Skala darzustellen, nahm J. Bartels die folgende Tabelle, um einen dreistündigen äquivalenten Bereich, ap genannt, abzuleiten.

Diese Tabelle wird so erstellt, dass an einer Station auf etwa 50 Grad Dipolbreite, ap als der Bereich der am meisten gestörten der beiden horizontalen Feldkomponenten angesehen werden kann, dargestellt in 2nT Einheiten.

Der geomagnetische Ap Index

Der tägliche Ap Index ist der Durchschnittswert der acht ap Werte eines Tages.

Der geomagnetische Cp Index

Um den etwas subjectiven Ci Index zu ersetzen, wurde der Cp Index entwickelt, die tägliche planetarische Kennzahl. Cp ist eine qualitative Abschätzung des Gesamtniveaus der magnetischen Tagesaktivität, abgeleitet aus der Summe der acht ap-Amplituden des betreffenden Tages. Cp variiert in zehntel Schritten von 0 (ruhig) bis 2,5 (stürmisch) und ist nach der folgenden Tabelle definiert:

Der geomagnetische C9 Index

Der C9 Index wurde entwickelt, um die magnetische Aktivität auf Basis des Cp Index auszudrücken. Er überführt die Skale des Cp Index (0 - 2,5) auf eine Skala von 0 bis 9 und ist nach folgende Tabelle definiert:

 

Die ruhigen (Q) und gestörten (D) Tage

Klassifikation der Q und D Tage

Die Bestimmung der ruhigsten Tage (Q, von engl. "quiet") und der stürmischten Tage (D, von engl. "disturbed") eines jeden Monats basiert auf dem Kp-Index und wird anhand dreier Bewertungskriterien für jeden Tag ermittelt:

  1. Die Summe aller acht Kp-Werte für einen Tag
  2. Die Summe der Quadrate dieser Kp-Werte
  3. Den Maximalwert der acht Kp-Werte

Jedem Tag wird für jedes dieser Kriterien eine Ordnungszahl zugewiesen. Diese drei Ordnungszahlen werden gemittelt und die fünf (bzw. 10) Tage mit den niedrigsten Werten als die ruhigsten Tage, sowie die fünf Tage mit den höchsten Mittelwerte als die stürmischsten Tage bestimmt.

Verfeinerte Klassifikation

Die obige Einteilung erlaubt jedoch nur eine relative Klassifizierung innerhalb des jeweiligen Monats. Wenn der allgemeine Sturmpegel zwischen den einzelnen Jahren, bzw. den Monaten, sehr variiert, können die so bezeichneten stürmische Tage durchaus Tage mit wenig geomagnetischer Aktivität sein, oder die ruhigen Tage tatsächlich stürmisch sein.

Um diese Situation zu kennzeichnen, werden ausgesuchte Tage, die nicht den absoluten Kriterien genügen, wie folgt markiert:

  • ein ausgesuchter ruhiger Tag wird als nicht wirklich ruhig erachtet und mit dem Buchstaben A markiert, wenn Ap größer als 6 ist, oder mit dem Buchstaben K, wenn Ap kleiner oder gleich 6 ist, aber einen Kp-Wert größer als 3, oder 2 größer als 2+ enthält.
  • ein ausgewählter stürmischer Tag, der als nicht wirklich stürmisch erachtet wird, wird mit einem Stern (*) markiert, wenn Ap kleiner 20 ist.

Die ruhigen (Q) und gestörten (D) Tage:

  • aktuelle Q/D-Tage, Text-Datei, html-Datei
  • Archiv der Q/D Tage:
    • 2000 - 2009, Text-Datei, html-Datei
    • 1990 - 1999, Text-Datei, html-Datei
    • 1980 - 1989, Text-Datei, html-Datei
    • 1970 - 1979, Text-Datei, html-Datei
    • 1960 - 1969, Text-Datei, html-Datei
    • 1950 - 1959, Text-Datei, html-Datei
    • 1940 - 1949, Text-Datei, html-Datei
    • 1932 - 1939, Text-Datei, html-Datei
  • J. Bartels, The technique of scaling indices K and Q of geomagnetic activity, Ann. Intern. Geophys. Year 4, 215-226, 1957;
  • J. Bartels,The geomagnetic measures for the time-variations of solar corpuscular radiation, described for use in correlation studies in other geophysical fields, Ann. Intern. Geophys. Year 4, 227-236, 1957;
  • M. Siebert, Maßzahlen der erdmagnetischen Aktivität, in Handbuch der Physik, vol. 49/3, 206-275, Springer, Berlin Heidelberg, 1971; for the description of several indices (in German);
  • M. Siebert and J. Meyer, Geomagnetic Activity Indices, in The Upper Atmosphere (Eds. W. Dieminger et al.), 887-911, Springer, Berlin Heidelberg, 1996; for an updated version of the German reference;
  • P.N. Mayaud, Derivation, Meaning and Use of Geomagnetic Indices, Geophysical Monograph 22, Am. Geophys. Union, Washington D.C., 1980; for a complete review of the present IAGA indices;
  • G.K. Rangarajan, Indices of magnetic activity, in Geomagnetism, edited by I.A. Jacobs, Academic, San Diego, 1989;
  • M. Menvielle and A. Berthelier, The K-derived planetary indices: description and availability, Rev. Geophys. 29, 3, 415-432, 1991.

© Kp-Indexdaten von dieser Website werden unter der Creative Commons Attribution 4.0  International (CC BY 4.0) verteilt.

Kontakt

Jürgen Matzka
Arbeitsgruppenleiter
Dr. Jürgen Matzka
Geomagnetismus
Lindenstr. 7
Gebäude H 1, Raum 213
14823 Niemegk
+49 33843 624-18
Zum Profil
Claudia Stolle
Sektionsleiterin
Prof. Dr. Claudia Stolle
Geomagnetismus
Behlertstraße 3a
Gebäude ME, Raum 07
14467 Potsdam
+49 331 288-1230
Zum Profil