Dr. Romulo Pereira Goncalves

Romulo Pereira Goncalves
Dr. Romulo Pereira Goncalves
Engineer
Telegrafenberg
Building A 20, Room 311
14473 Potsdam
+49 331 288-1980
romulo.pereira.goncalves@gfz-potsdam.de

Function and Responsibilities:

Software Engineer at GFZ Helmholtz Innovation Lab - FERN.Lab.

Research Interests:

  • Remote sensing data.
  • Spatial-temporal data analysis.
  • Distributed data storage systems and data catalogs.
  • Distributed and parallel computing.

Career:

I have mainly worked as researcher in Computer Science. The main focus of my research was database systems. I did most my research at the Database research group from the Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica in the Netherlands, followed by one year PostDoc at IBM research center in California.

In the past years I shifted from fundamental research to applied research with special focus on storage and processing systems for GeoSpatial data. Such work was done at the Netherlands eScience Center (NLeSC). I was responsible to foresee which technology directions on optimized data handling NLeSC should follow to enable Space, Earth and Life Sciences short- and longterm research agendas. Special focus on strategic collaborations and alliances to research, design and implement data management solutions for spatio-temporal analysis on large banks of remote sensing data. Set up of generalization projects to pursue software sustainability and FAIR data.

Since May 2020 I work  as software engineer at GFZ Helmholtz Innovation Lab - FERN.Lab, which is a technology and transfer platform for innovative methods developed at Department 1.

Education:

2006: I have a Systems and Computer Science Engineering Academic Diploma: University of Minho, Braga, Portugal.

2013: A PhD about distributed database architectures from the University of Amsterdam. My PhD research was done at the Database research group from the Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica in the Netherlands.

Projects:

Current projects:

  • FERN.Lab (2020 -)

Publications

Dr. Romulo Pereira Goncalves

Romulo Pereira Goncalves
Dr. Romulo Pereira Goncalves
Ingenieur
Telegrafenberg
Gebäude A 20, Raum 311
14473 Potsdam

Funktion und Aufgaben:

Softwareentwickler bei GFZ Helmholtz Innovation Labs - FERN.Lab.

Wissenschaftliche Interessen:

  • Fernerkundungsdaten.
  • Räumlich-zeitliche Datenanalyse.
  • Verteilte Datenspeichersysteme und Datenkataloge.
  • Verteiltes und paralleles Rechnen.

Karriere:

Ich habe hauptsächlich als Forscher in der Informatik gearbeitet. Der Schwerpunkt meiner Forschung waren Datenbanksysteme. Die meisten meiner Forschungen habe ich in der Forschungsgruppe Datenbank am Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica in den Niederlanden durchgeführt, gefolgt von einem Jahr PostDoc am IBM-Forschungszentrum in Kalifornien.

In den letzten Jahren wechselte ich von der Grundlagenforschung zur angewandten Forschung mit besonderem Schwerpunkt auf Speicher- und Verarbeitungssystemen für GeoSpatial-Daten. Diese Arbeit wurde am Netherlands eScience Center (NLeSC) durchgeführt. Ich war dafür verantwortlich, vorauszusehen, welche technologischen Richtungen für eine optimierte Datenverarbeitung am NLeSC verfolgt werden sollten, um kurz- und langfristige Forschungsagenden in den Bereichen Weltraum, Erde und Biowissenschaften zu ermöglichen. Besonderes Augenmerk lag auf strategischen Kooperationen und Allianzen zur Erforschung, Entwicklung und Implementierung von Datenmanagementlösungen für die raum-zeitliche Analyse großer Fernerkundungsdatenbanken. Einrichtung von Generalisierungsprojekten zur Verfolgung der Nachhaltigkeit von Software und FAIR-Daten.

Seit Mai 2020 arbeite ich als Software-Ingenieur im GFZ Helmholtz Innovation Lab - FERN.Lab, einer Technologie- und Transferplattform für innovative Methoden, die in der Abteilung 1 entwickelt wurden.

Werdegang / Ausbildung:

2006: Ich habe ein akademisches Diplom in System- und Informatikingenieurwesen: Universität Minho, Braga, Portugal.

2013: Promotion über verteilte Datenbankarchitekturen an der Universität Amsterdam.Meine Doktorarbeit wurde in der Datenbank-Forschungsgruppe des Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica in den Niederlanden durchgeführt.

Projekte:

Laufende Projekte:

  • FERN.Lab (2020 -)

Publikationen