Dr. Kai Mangelsdorf

Kai Mangelsdorf
Dr. Kai Mangelsdorf
Section Head
Telegrafenberg
Building B, Room 425
14473 Potsdam
+49 331 288-1785
+49 331 288-1782
kai.mangelsdorf@gfz-potsdam.de

Function and Responsibilities:

  • Acting head of the Organic Geochemistry group
  • Laboratory manager of the Organic Geochemistry group

Research Interests:

My research interest is focussed on the interplay between organic matter (OM) transformation in the subsurface carbon cycle and microbial communities. To address this interaction I investigate both OM transformation processes and the involved microbial ecosystems combining the science disciplines of Organic Geochemistry and Biogeochemistry. In my research I focus on OM-microbial interactions in deep sedimentary systems (deep biosphere) and in extreme near-surface environments such as permafrost and desert regions. My analytical approach is the application of biomolecules (biomarkers) and their carbon isotope signals providing valuable information on the origin and fate of the organic matter in the carbon cycle and on living and dead microbial biomass. My work range from fundamental to applied research and I contribute to the GFZ Research Units Georesources and Geoenergy as well as Earth Surface and Climate Interaction. Some of my research topics are:

  • Biogeochemistry: Microbial life and activity in the deep biosphere and other extreme environments; Interaction of the microbial life with the subsurface carbon cycle; Identifying microbial degradation processes; Interaction of microbial communities with their life habitats; Biogeochemical characterisation of microbial key players; Microbial markers as paleoclimate and paleoenvironmental indicators; Microbial membrane adaptation processes to ambient habitat conditions; Negative impacts of microbial activity in petroleum and geothermal production facilities etc.
  • Organic Geochemistry: OM characterisation; Compositional changes in the OM structure during diagenetic and catagenetic alteration; Origin and fate of petroleum hydrocarbons in sedimentary systems; Substrate potential of OM transformation to feed deep microbial ecosystems; Quality assessment of permafrost OM to release substrates for microbial greenhouse gas production; Identification of new biomarkers etc.
  • Method development: Development of new analytical approaches to address my science topics; Development of new tracers for OM quality and for paleoclimate and paleoenvironment assessment etc.

Career:

  • April 2017: Acting head of GFZ-Section 3.2 Organic Geochemistry
  • September 2007: Senior Scientist of the GFZ-Section Organic Geochemistry
  • September 2007: Laboratory head of GFZ-Section Organic Geochemistry
  • Juni 2001: Scientist (PostDoc) at the GFZ-Section Organic Geochemistry
  • 1996-2000: Scientist in the Organic Geochemistry laboratories of the Institute for Chemistry and Biology of the Marine Environment (ICBM), University of Oldenburg

Education:

  • 1996-2000: Ph.D. in Organic Geochemistry at the Institute for Chemistry and Biology of the Marine Environment (ICBM), University of Oldenburg
  • 1993-1996: Diploma in Chemistry (University of Oldenburg)
  • 1991-1993: Pre-diploma in Chemistry (University of Oldenburg)
  • 1989: High school diploma at the Ubbo Emmius Gymnasium Leer

Publications

Dr. Kai Mangelsdorf

Kai Mangelsdorf
Dr. Kai Mangelsdorf
Wissenschaftler
Telegrafenberg
Gebäude B, Raum 425
14473 Potsdam
+49 331 288-1785
+49 331 288-1782
kai.mangelsdorf@gfz-potsdam.de

Funktion und Aufgaben:

  • Kommissarischer Leiter der Organischen Geochemie
  • Laborleiter der Organischen Geochemie

Wissenschaftliche Interessen:

Im Zentrum meines Forschungsinteresses steht das Wechselspiel zwischen der Transformation von organischem Material (OM) und mikrobiellen Gemeinschaften. Um diese Wechselbeziehung zu untersuchen, analysiere ich sowohl die Transformationsprozesse des OM als auch die involvierten mikrobiellen Gemeinschaften, in dem ich Analysemethoden der Organischen Geochemie und der Biogeochemie kombiniere. In meiner Forschung fokussiere ich mich auf die Wechselbeziehungen zwischen OM und mikrobiellen Gemeinschaften in tiefen sedimentären Systemen (Tiefe Biosphäre) und in extremen oberflächennahen Systemen wie z.B. in Permafrostgebieten und in Wüsten. Mein wissenschaftlicher Ansatz ist die Anwendung von Biomolekülen (Biomarkern) und deren Kohlenstoffisotopensignale, die wertvolle Informationen bezüglich des Ursprungs und des Schicksals des OM im Kohlenstoffkreislauf sowie auf lebende und vergangene Mikroorganismen geben können. Meine Arbeiten erstrecken sich von Grundlagen- bis zu angewandten Studien und tragen zu den GFZ Forschungseinheiten Georesourcen und Geoenergie und Wechselwirkungen zwischen Erdoberfläche und Klima bei. Einige meiner Forschungsthemen sind:

  • Biogeochemie: Mikrobielles Leben in der tiefen Biosphäre und in anderen extremen Habitaten; Wechselbeziehung von mikrobiellem Leben mit dem geologischen Kohlenstoffkreislauf; Identifizierung von mikrobiellen Abbauprozessen; Wechselspiel zwischen mikrobiellen Gemeinschaften und ihren Habitaten; Biogeochemische Charakterisierung der mikrobiellen Schlüsselorganismen; Mikrobielle Marker als Indikatoren zur Paläoklima- und Paläoumweltrekonstruktion; Mikrobielle Membrananpassung an umgebende Habitatsbedingungen; Negativer Einfluss von mikrobiellen Gemeinschaften auf Ölförder- und Geothermieanlagen usw.
  • Organische Geochemie: Charakterisierung von OM; Ursprung und Schicksal von Kohlenwasserstoffen in sedimentären Systemen; Änderung der Zusammensetzung von OM während der diagenetischen und katagenetischen Umwandlung; Substratpotential von OM während der Transformation als Nahrungsgrundlage für eine tiefe Biosphäre; Qualitative Abschätzung des OM in Permafrostgebieten in Bezug auf die Freisetzung von Substraten für die mikrobielle Genese von Treibhausgasen usw.
  • Methodenentwicklung: Entwicklung neuer Methoden zur Durchführung meiner Forschungsthemen; Entwicklung neuer Indikatoren für die Qualitätsabschätzung von OM und zur Paläoklima- und Paläoumweltrekonstruktion usw.

Karriere:

  • April 2017: Kommissarischer Leiter der GFZ-Sektion 3.2 Organische Geochemie
  • September 2007: festangestellter Wissenschaftler in der GFZ-Sektion Organische Geochemie
  • September 2007: Laborleiter der GFZ-Sektion Organische Geochemie
  • Juni 2001: Wissenschaftler (PostDoc) in der GFZ-Sektion Organische Geochemie
  • 1996-2000: Wissenschaftler im organisch geochemischen Analyselabor des Instituts für Chemie und Biologie des Meeres (ICBM) der Universität Oldenburg

Werdegang / Ausbildung:

  • 1996-2000: Ph.D. in der Organischen Geochemie am Institut für Chemie und Biologie des Meeres (ICBM), Universität Oldenburg
  • 1993-1996: Diplom in Chemie an der Universität Oldenburg
  • 1991-1993: Vordiplom in Chemie an der Universität Oldenburg
  • 1989: Abitur am Ubbo Emmius Gymnasium Leer

Publikationen