Personalia | New Steering Committee Geomagnetic Observatories

Von links nach rechts: A. Morschhauser (GFZ), C. Stolle (GFZ), N. Olsen (DTU), J. Matzka (GFZ), H. Soffel, A. Jackson (ETH), A. Rudloff (GFZ), L. Chau (IAP-Kborn), M. Weber (GFZ; Foto: Haseloff, GFZ).

Since this October, the steering committee of the GFZ Adolf Schmidt Observatory for Geomagnetism Lenkungsausschuss Geomagnetische Observatorien in Niemegk has new members. The steering committee advises the GFZ Executive Board and represents the interests of the user of this global research infrastructure.

The new members of the steering committee are: Prof. Andrew Jackson, ETH Zurich, Prof. Nils Olsen, Technical University Denmark (DTU), and Prof. Dr. Jorge Chau Leibniz Institute for Physics of the Atmosphere Kühlungsborn (IAP-Kborn). On the first meeting of the new committee on 1 October, the former head of the committee, Prof. Heinrich Soffel, was given a ceremonial farewell. New head of the committee is Prof. Andrew Jackson.

Additional News

Thawing permafrost produces more methane than expected

Make data FAIR – Research Data Alliance Pre-meeting

The human factor

Technologies for the energy transition - GFZ-report evaluates deep geothermal energy

Personalia | New Head for GFZ Section Geological Storage

Another clue for fast motion of the Hawaiian hotspot

Life under extreme drought conditions

Humans Changed the Ecosystems of Central Africa More Than 2,600 Years Ago

Current Earthquake Information

German nights get brighter – but not everywhere