Personalia | Charlotte Krawczyk and Magdalena Scheck-Wenderoth received as members of the Academia Europaea

Prof. Charlotte Krawczyk (photo: GFZ)
Prof. Magdalena Scheck-Wenderoth (photo: Gesine Born for Helmholtz)

GFZ Department Directors Charlotte Krawczyk  and Magdalena Scheck-Wenderoth  were received as members of the Academia Europaea, Section Earth and Cosmic Science.

The Academia Europeae is a European non-governmental scientific society based in London with the objective of “promoting and supporting the public understanding of science”. A membership is only attained by proposal of an advisory body. The society has about 3000 members, among them more than 50 Nobel Prize laureates.

Charlotte Krawczyk is Director of GFZ department Geophysics and head of section Near-Surface Geophysics. Her research mainly focusses on applied geophysics and geophysical properties of mass transport in the subsurface. Besides her work at GFZ she is a professor for geophysics in a joint appointment with the Technical University of Berlin.

Magdalena Scheck-Wenderoth is Director of GFZ department Geotechnologies and head of section Basin Modelling. She holds a joint professorship with the Rheinisch-Westfälisch Technische Hochschule (RWTH) Aachen. The focus of her research is on the geodynamics of sedimentary basins across scales and related consequences for subsurface utilization. (ak)

More information on Academia Europaea

Additional News

Tsunami Early Warning System: Jörn Lauterjung awarded the Federal Cross of Merit

Interview | Jens Wickert: "The future belongs to small satellites"

Personalia | Benjamin Männel elected to the Governing Board of the International GNSS...

"Tipping point" towards desertification

Another ERC Grant for GFZ Taylor Schildgen will receive 1.9 million euros for her research

Personalia | Numerous awards for GFZ scientists at the AGU‘s annual meeting

Personalia | Sophia Walther received Ernst Reuter Prize of Freie Universität Berlin

Round table for data

GFZ spin-off DiGOS wins Berlin Brandenburg Innovation Award

Personalia | Kate Maher from Stanford University appointed as next Helmholtz International...