Personalia | Kirk Bryan Award for three GFZ scientists

Field work in the canyon of Da´an Chi in Taiwan. The one kilometre long and up to 20 metre deep gorge was formed in less than 10 years after the Jiji earthquake in 1999. The rock spur in the middle of the picture was washed away during the flood of 2012 in a period of one hour (photo: Kristen Cook, GFZ).

Kristen Cook, Jens Turowski and Niels Hovius did receive the Kirk Bryan Award last Sunday, 22 September. The award is presented annually by the American Geological Society of America (GSA) to honour "outstanding contributions in the interdisciplinary field of Quaternary Geology and Geomorphology". The award recognizes the team's publication "River gorge eradication by downstream sweep erosion", which was published in Nature Geoscience in 2014. In their study, the three researchers of the GFZ’s Geomorphology Section described a previously unknown mechanism of river erosion: "downstream sweep erosion".

The Kirk Bryan Award has been presented by the GSA since 1958 and is the prize of the Division of Quaternary Geology and Geomorphology within the GSA. It is named after the US geologist and geomorphologist Kirk Bryan (1888-1950), who researched and taught at Harvard until his death. This year's award ceremony will take place at the GSA's annual meeting in Phoenix, Arizona.(jz)

More information:

  • Cook, K., Turowski, J., Hovius, N., 2014. River gorge eradication by downstream sweep erosion. Nature Geoscience 7 (682-686). DOI: 10.1038/ngeo2224