Gravity Recovery and Climate Experiment (GRACE) Mission

GRACE is a joint project between the National Aeronautics and Space Administration ( NASA ) and the Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt ( DLR ). The mission has been proposed in 1996 jointly by the University of Texas at Austin, Center for Space Research ( UTCSR ), the German Research Centre for Geosciences ( GFZ ) and the Jet Propulsion Laboratories (JPL) in Pasadena. GRACE was selected in 1997 as second mission in NASA's Earth System Science Pathfinder ( ESSP ) program. As an innovation, the Principal Investigator Prof. Byron Tapley (UTCSR) and his team are ultimately responsible for developing the flight mission hardware from selection to a launch-ready condition, for accomplishing the scientific objectives and delivering the proposed measurements to the broader Earth science community and general public as expediently as possible. Co -Principal Investigator of the mission is Dr. Frank Flechtner (GFZ). Project management and systems engineering activities are carried out by JPL.

The primary science objective of the GRACE mission is to measure the Earth’s gravity field and it’s time variability with unprecedented accuracy. The increase in accuracy has been achieved by utilizing two satellites following each other on the same orbital track. To consider precise attitude and non-gravitational forces both satellites are equipped with star cameras and accelerometers. The position and velocity of the satellites is measured using onboard GPS antennae and (for validation purposes) SLR retro-reflectors. Additionally, the twin satellites are interconnected by a K-band microwave link to measure the exact separation distance and its rate of change to an accuracy of better than 0.1 µm/s. These measurements are directly coupled to the seasonal and sub-seasonal variations in the continental hydrological cycle, to ice mass loss in the large glacier systems in Greenland or Antarctica, to long wavelength ocean circulation processes or to the transport of ocean heat to Earth’s poles. Additionally, GRACE provides the time variability of the Earth’ overall external shape, the geoid. Consequently, since its launch in March 2002 this fundamental dataset has enabled dramatic improvements of seasonal and inter-annual climate change estimates.

The secondary science objective of the GRACE mission is to obtain about 150 very precise globally distributed vertical temperature and humidity profiles of the atmosphere per day using the GPS radio occultation technique.

Notes:

The GRACE project is promoted by the Space Agency of the German Research Center for Aeronautics and Space (DLR) with funding of the German Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology (BMWi) based on a resolution of the German Bundestag with support code 50 EE 1027.

GRACE ground segment operations are co-funded by ESA. Therefore, ESA is supporting the continuation of the measurements of mass redistribution in the Earth system.

Contact

Prof. Dr. Frank Flechtner

Head of Section 1.2:
Global Geomonitoring and Gravity Field

Telegrafenberg
building A17 room 00.12

tel. +49 331 288-1130

c/o DLR Oberpfaffenhofen
Münchner Str. 20
D-82234 Wessling
building 126 room 113

tel. +49 8153 90832 10

Gravity Recovery and Climate Experiment (GRACE) Mission

GRACE ist ein gemeinsames Projekt zwischen der US Raumfahrtbehörde ( NASA ) und dem Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt ( DLR ). Die Mission wurde 1996 von der Universität von Texas in Austin, Zentrum für Weltraumforschung ( UTCSR ), dem Deutschen GeoForschungsZentrum ( GFZ ) und den Jet Propulsion Laboratories  in Pasadena geplant. GRACE wurde 1997 als zweite Mission im NASA Earth System Science Pathfinder ( ESSP ) Programm ausgewählt. Als Innovation ist der Principal Investigator Prof. Byron Tapley (UTSCR) und sein Team vollständig für die Entwicklung der Flughardware, für das Erreichen der wissenschaftlichen Zielsetzungen und die Verteilung der Messdaten und Produkte an die weltweiten wissenschaftlichen Nutzer verantwortlich. Co-Principal Investigator der Mission ist Prof. Dr. Frank Flechtner (GFZ). Projektmanagement und Systementwicklung werden durch JPL durchgeführt.

Das primäre wissenschaftliche Ziel der GRACE Mission ist, das Schwerefeld der Erde und dessen zeitlichen Veränderungen mit nie da gewesener Genauigkeit zu vermessen. Der Genauigkeitsgewinn wurde durch zwei baugleiche Satelliten erreicht, die sich auf derselben Bahn folgen. Für deren Lagekontrolle und die Bestimmung von nicht-gravitativen Störkräften haben beide Satelliten Sternensensoren und Beschleunigungsmesser an Bord. Die Position und die Geschwindigkeit der Satelliten werden durch GPS-Empfänger und (für Validierungszwecke) durch Satellite Laser Ranging Retro-Reflektoren bestimmt. Zusätzlich sind die beiden Satelliten mit einem Mikrowellensystem im K-Band ausgestattet, welches es erlaubt, den Abstand und insbesondere dessen Änderung mit einer Genauigkeit von besser als 0.1 µm/s zu bestimmen. Diese Beobachtungen sind direkt verknüpft mit saisonalen und sub-saisonalen Veränderungen im kontinentalen Wasserkreislauf, mit Eismassenänderungen in den großen Gletschersystemen in Grönland oder in der Antarktis, mit der langwelligen Ozeanzirkulation oder dem Wärmetransport vom Äquator hin zu den Polen. Zusätzlich liefert GRACE die zeitliche Veränderung der physikalischen Figur der Erde, dem Geoid. Aus diesen Gründen wurden seit dem Start der Mission in 2002 durch deren fundamentalen und langen Datensatz deutliche Verbesserungen in der Beobachtung verschiedener saisonaler und subsaisonaler klimarelevanter Parameter erzielt.

Das zweite wissenschaftliche Ziel der GRACE-Mission ist, täglich etwa 150 global verteilte vertikale Temperatur- und Wasserdampfprofile aus GPS-Radiookkultationsdaten zu bestimmen.

Anmerkungen:

Das GRACE Projekt wird auf Beschluss des Deutschen Bundestags durch die Raumfahrtagentur des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) mit Mitteln des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Technologie (BMWi) mit dem Förderkennzeichen 50 EE 1027 gefördert.

Der Betrieb des GRACE-Bodensegments wird durch die ESA seit 2011 ko-finanziert

 

 

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Frank Flechtner

Leiter der Sektion 1.2:
Globales Geomonitoring und Schwerefeld

Telegrafenberg
Gebäude A17 Raum 00.12

Tel.: +49(0)331 288-1130

c/o DLR Oberpfaffenhofen
Münchner Str. 20
D-82234 Wessling
Gebäude 126 Raum 113

Tel.: +49(0)8153 28-1297