AlpArray - MB-4D Mountain Building Processes in Four Dimensions


Contribution to AlpArray Seismic Network
The AlpArray Seismic Network (AASN) is a European initiative to cover the Alps and surrounding regions with a homogeneous network of broadband seismometers with the objective to seismically image the three-dimensional structure of the whole orogen, i.e. crust, mantle lithosphere and asthenosphere at high resolution. The inner target region is defined by the smoothed 800 m contour, which is surrounded by the outer target region at a distance of 250 km from the inner boundary, in order to achieve good coverage of the transition zone structure, With the exception of the Ligurian and Adriatic sea, the array design is chosen such that each station has at least 6 neighbours at less than 52 km distance. In addition the Ligurian Sea is covered at a lower station spacing as a German-French effort (LOBSTER). DSEBRA is a new instrument of the German seismological community consisting of 100 broadband stations based at the universities of Frankfurt, Münster, Bochum and Kiel. The first mission of the DSEBRA stations begins in spring 2018 and will form the German contribution to the AASN. This effort is supported by the DFG within the 4D-MB SPP. UNIBRA is an effort by the German seismological universities and GFZ to operate their own stations, using mostly institutional funds, until the delivery and installation of the DSEBRA stations in order to maximise the overlap with the deployment of European AlpArray partners. GFZ has contributed ten stations in Austria, which were installed in the autumn of 2015. Each station transmits its data in real time to the GEOFON data centre and is equipped with a Trillium 240 sensor, offering sensitivity down to very long periods.


  • Ruhr - University Bochum (coordination)
  • JWG University Frankfurt
  • CAU Kiel
  • WWU Münster
  • LMU Munich
  • University Leipzig



A dense seismological network in the central and southern Alps
This project is designed to collect and provide seismological data through a dense seismological network in the central and eastern Alps. The 154 densely spaced stations planned here will complement the larger-scale AlpArray Network ("backbone"). SWATH D focuses on a key region of the Alps where the polarity of the subduction may change and where TRANSALP found a jump in the Moho. The data generated in this project are required by 15 individual applications in the SPP; 15 other proposals need products (e.g. tomographic images) resulting therefrom. SWATH D is therefore an important part within the SPP and the international AlpArray community, as well as a scientific service for the majority of the applications in the SPP.

Principal Investigators

  • Michael Weber (GFZ Potsdam)
  • Christian Haberland (GFZ Potsdam)
  • Frederik Tilmann (GFZ Potsdam)


  • Benjamin Heit (GFZ Potsdam)


  • W. Lenhardt (ZAMG, Vienna)
  • D. Pesaresi (OGS Udine, Italy)

Experiment time frame

  • July 2017 - May 2019

Details of projects



DFG - German Research Foundation