New IAG President and IAGA Vice President come from GFZ

Two new IUGG presidencies at GFZ.

Dr. Hans-Joachim Linthe, winner of the IAGA Long Service Award (photo: GFZ).

01.07.2015: Prof. Harald Schuh, Director of GFZ department „Geodesy and Remote Sensing“, was elected as new president of the International Association of Geodesy (IAG), coming on duty on Juli 1st. Furthermore, this weekend Dr. Monika Korte, GFZ section „Earth’s Magnetic Field“, was elected as new Vice President of the International Association of Geomagnetism and Aeronomy (IAGA), on the annual meeting of the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics (IUGG). At this meeting, Dr. Hans-Joachim Linthe was honored with the Long Service Award.

IAG und IAGA are two out of eight associations of the IUGG. The origins of both associations go back to the 19th century. The IAG deals with science and research in the field of geodesy and the Earth's gravity field, the IAGA deals with geomagnetism and aeronomy, as well as with research topics like the investigation of the Earth’s magnetic field, the magnetosphere, solar winds or electromagnetic sounding.

The "European Arc Measurement", which is regarded as the forerunner of IAG, was founded by General Johan Jacob Baeyer. His successor in Potsdam and founder of the Geodetic Institute in Potsdam, Friedrich Robert Helmert, is beheld as the "father of geodetic science" for the scientific work he accomplished in Potsdam. Based in Potsdam, Helmert transformed the international network into an "International Earth Measurement". With the election of Prof. Schuh, IAG returns to its point of origin, Potsdam.

Prof. Harald Schuh, who besides its presidency is now a member of the IUGG executive committee, will devote to new duties in bodies of the IUGG and other scientific organizations as well as within the United Nations (UN). Here, the first resolution dealing with geodesy was adopted by the General Assembly on February 26th (Resolution Nr. A/RES/69/266), coincidentally coinciding with Prof. Schuh’s election.

The assignment of Dr. Monika Korte includes the coordination of IAGA symposia and workshops, the definition of IAGA bylaws, and the representation of the scientific interests of IAGA’s members and the IAGA’s general research topics towards the international scientific landscape.

Dr. Hans-Joachim Linthe, who retired in December 2014, was honored with the IAGA Long Service Award, together with the british geomagnetist John Riddick. The former technical and vice head of the Adolf-Schmidt Observatory in Niemegk, Germany, was awarded for his activities in scientific communities and unions, and for more than 20 years of making available the Kp-Index, a measure of solar particle radiation.