Personalia | Change of president at acatech – Professor Spath will succeed Professor Hüttl

Prof. Hüttl - Change of President at acatech

30.09.2016: After two terms in office, Professor Reinhard F. J. Hüttl, Chairman of the Board and Scientific Executive Director of the GFZ, will hand over his office as President of acatech, the German Academy of Engineering and Technology, as of February 8, 2017 to Professor Dieter Spath. Spath is one of the founding members of acatech and, as Vice President, has contributed considerably to the structural development of the academy. Reinhard Hüttl was elected President in 2008 and held office for two election periods. acatech’s statutes stipulate only one re-election as President.

Hüttl announced his successor on September 29 in his speech on the occasion of Dieter Spath stepping down as the Chairman of the Board of the Wittenstein AG in Bad Mergentheim. Spath is an ergonomics scientist and, in addition to his new position at acatech, he will also head the Fraunhofer Institute for Industrial Engineering as of October 1. Furthermore, he will lead the cooperating Institute for Industrial Engineering and Technology Management at the University of Stuttgart.  Reinhard Hüttl sees in Dieter Spath the “ideal candidate” and a “bridge builder between science, economy, and society”.

Reinhard Hüttl will remain President of acatech up to February 8, 2017. After that, he will represent the academy internationally as Vice President. Hüttl was one of the pioneers of the academy and is regarded as one of its influential personalities. He will continue to focus on the subjects of energy, sustainability, and technological communication.

Acatech is headed traditionally with dual leadership.  President Professor Henning Kagermann will remain as President in office.

>>acatec press release